Why 24 Spokes in Indian Flag: Significance of Ashoka Chakra

The 24 spokes of the wheel represent the diverse cultural heritage of the country and symbolize the unity of various principles of righteousness. The use of the Ashoka Chakra in India's flag is a testament to its importance in the country's national identity.

For all latest articles, follow on Google News

India’s national flag is one of the most recognizable symbols of the country. The flag features three horizontal stripes of saffron, white, and green, and a navy blue Ashoka Chakra at its center. The Ashoka Chakra is a 24-spoked wheel, which holds a significant position in India’s history and culture. The Ashoka Chakra not only represents India’s national pride but also symbolizes the nation’s ethos, values, and traditions. This article explores the origins and symbolism of the Ashoka Chakra and the reason behind the use of 24 spokes in India’s flag.

The Origin of Ashoka Chakra:

The Ashoka Chakra gets its name from the famous Mauryan Emperor, Ashoka. Ashoka was a powerful ruler who unified most of the Indian subcontinent during the 3rd century BCE. Ashoka’s reign is notable for his conversion to Buddhism and his policy of non-violence, which he promoted throughout his empire. The Ashoka Chakra is believed to have been created during Ashoka’s reign, and its symbolism is rooted in the tenets of Buddhism. [Some people often want to know why there are 24 lines in indian flag.]

Symbolism of Ashoka Chakra

The Ashoka Chakra is rich in symbolism, representing many different aspects of India’s cultural heritage. The 24 spokes of the wheel are believed to symbolize the 24 hours of the day, representing the never-ending cycle of time. The wheel’s circular shape signifies continuity, change, and progress. The Ashoka Chakra’s design is inspired by the Sarnath Lion Capital, which is an important Buddhist monument located in Sarnath, Uttar Pradesh. The lion, which appears in the center of the wheel, represents courage, power, and strength.

The Significance of 24 Spokes

The number 24 has great significance in Indian culture and is deeply rooted in ancient Indian tradition. In Hindu mythology, there are 24 Tirthankaras, who were spiritual teachers and guides to humanity. Additionally, there are 24 elements in the human body, which are believed to represent the 24 principles of dharma or righteousness. The 24 spokes in the Ashoka Chakra thus represent the unity of these various principles, symbolizing India’s diverse cultural heritage.

Use of Ashoka Chakra in India’s Flag

The use of the Ashoka Chakra in India’s flag has a long history. The idea of incorporating the Ashoka Chakra in the Indian flag was first proposed in 1921 by Pingali Venkayya, an Indian freedom fighter and a vexillologist. The current design of the flag was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on July 22, 1947, and has remained unchanged since then. The Ashoka Chakra is a prominent symbol in the Indian flag and serves as a reminder of the nation’s history, culture, and heritage.

Ashoka Chakra: A Symbol of National Pride

The Ashoka Chakra is not just a symbol of India’s cultural heritage but also represents the country’s national pride. The Ashoka Chakra is an essential element of the Indian flag, and its presence serves as a unifying force for all Indians, regardless of their religion, caste, or creed. The wheel’s symbolism represents the idea of unity, progress, and peace, which are the core values of India’s secular democracy.


The Ashoka Chakra is a symbol of great significance in Indian culture and history. It represents the nation’s ethos, values, and traditions and serves as a unifying force for all Indians. The 24 spokes of the wheel represent the diverse cultural heritage of the country and symbolize the unity of various principles of righteousness. The use of the Ashoka Chakra in India’s flag is a testament to its importance in the country’s national identity.

The Ashoka Chakra has become an iconic symbol of India, and its presence can be seen in various government and non-government organizations’ emblems and logos. Its popularity as a symbol has spread beyond India’s borders, and it is recognized worldwide as a symbol of India’s cultural heritage and national pride.


  • Indian Ministry of Home Affairs. (2021). National Flag. Retrieved from https://mha.gov.in/national-flag
  • Ministry of External Affairs. (2020). National Symbols of India. Retrieved from https://www.mea.gov.in/national-symbols-of-india.htm
  • Singh, P. (2017). Ashoka Chakra: The Significance and Importance. India Today. Retrieved from https://www.indiatoday.in/education-today/gk-current-affairs/story/ashoka-chakra-significance-956944-2017-03-22
  • Thakur, S. (2019). Why Does the Indian Flag Have 24 Spokes in the Ashoka Chakra? The Better India. Retrieved from https://www.thebetterindia.com/194843/india-flag-ashoka-chakra-symbol-meaning-24-spokes-history-indian-pride-sarthak/
  • Venkatesh, M. (2021). The Ashoka Chakra: The Symbolism Behind India’s National Emblem. Culture Trip. Retrieved from https://theculturetrip.com/asia/india/articles/the-ashoka-chakra-the-symbolism-behind-indias-national-emblem/
Anita Sharma
Anita Sharma
Student at Aligarh Muslim University, India


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles


Indian Philosopher Swami Vivekananda’s Philosophy of Education

According to scholars, the philosophy of education is the branch of applied philosophy that investigates the nature of education as well as...

Digital Bangladesh vs Smart Bangladesh: Understanding the Difference and Implications

The world is rapidly changing, and so are the ways of doing things. Bangladesh has been on a journey of digitization and...

Top Clothing Brands in Bangladesh

Bangladesh is a country with a rich cultural heritage and its fashion industry is a reflection of the same. Over the years,...

What is Smart Bangladesh? Pillers, Challenges, Opportunities, Future of Smart Bangladesh

Bangladesh is a country with a rich history and culture. It is also a country with a bright future. In recent years,...

Smart Bangladesh: Definition, Building Blocks, Advantages, Challenges of Smart Bangladesh and Road Ahead for It

Smart Bangladesh is a term used by the Bangladesh Government  to mean the power of technology and innovation to improve the quality of life of the country's citizens, enhance economic growth, and protect the environment.

Why You Should Study History?

To study history is to study change: historians are experts in examining and interpreting human identities and transformations of societies and civilizations...

Bisht— a symbol of Arab identity

A bisht is a traditional men’s cloak popular in the Arab world, and worn in general for thousands of years. According to...